Lyon & Healy Awards

2024 Lyon & Healy Awards, March 6-8

2024 Awards Winners

In order of performance:

Renee Murphy, USA
Renee Murphy, USA
Annette Lee, USA
Annette Lee, USA
Mari Kelly, UK
Mari Kelly, UK

2024 Jury

Roll over (or click on) Jury member’s photo for name

Click here for Jury bios


2024 Contestants

Roll over (or click on) contestant photos for name

Awards Rules and Procedures

The Awards are open to harpists of all nationalities, up to the age of 30 as of March 1, 2024. Auditions will not be open to the public. Contestants will not be interrupted during performance. Repertoire must be played from memory.

Online applications must have been received by Monday, January 15, 2024.

Applications must be accompanied by

  1. Copy of identification that indicates birth.
  2. One teacher recommendation stating that the applicant knows the required repertoire. Please send via email to
  3. A non-refundable registration fee of US $25.
  4. A high-resolution headshot.


The Lyon & Healy Awards will determine three (3) Award Winners, each receiving:

  • $2,000 in cash to be used to further education, and a
  • $500 gift certificate to Lyon & Healy Harps.

Required Repertoire

Participants will play the following pieces:

  1. E. Schmidt: ETUDE NO. 6
    (Available at and Lyon & Healy West, item #709083-705, $19.95)
    (Available at and Lyon & Healy West, item #702190-240, $11.95)
  3. J. de la Presle: LE JARDIN MOUILLÉ
    (Available at and Lyon & Healy West, item #707520-300, $22.95)

Housing Information

There are a variety of housing options in Chicago, including the HI Chicago Hostel, 24 E Ida B Wells Dr, Chicago, IL 60605.

*Please note that personal harps are not allowed inside Hi Chicago.  If you intend to bring your personal harp for the Awards, it can be securely stored at Lyon & Healy.

Congratulations to previous Lyon & Healy Awards Winners!

2022 Lyon & Healy Awards Winners Juan Riveros, Lauren Swain and Evelien Vaneysendeyk
2019 Lyon & Healy Awards Winners Anya Garipoli and Claire Thai, Noel Wan not pictured.

2019 Lyon & Healy Hall, Chicago

Claire Thai
Noel Wan
Anya Garipoli

Honorable Mentions:
Adam Phan
Juan Riveros
Grace Repke
Chelsea Lane
Hannah Cope

2017 Carlton College, Northfield, MN

Ching Wei Lin
Madeline Jarzembak
Subin Lee

2015 Utah State University, Logan, UT

Hannah Cope
Seika Dong
Rachel Miller

Honorable Mention:
Noel Wan

2014 Shanghai Conservatory of Music, Shanghai

Qi Hang
Se Hee Hwang
Jia Peng

2013 Colburn School of Music, Los Angeles

Helen Gerhold
Rachel Hall
Ann Marie Liss

2013 Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, Cardiff, Wales

Elizabeth Bass
Llywelyn Jones
Jasmin-Isabel Kühne
Markus Thalheimer

2011 University of North Texas College of Music, Denton, TX

Sarah Nicole Davis
Samuel Karlinski
Katelyn Mullins
Elizabeth Anne White

Honorable Mentions:

Alisa Coffey
Chen-Yu Huang
Emily Klein
Melissa Stockstill
Maura Valenti

2010 Shanghai Conservatory of Music, Shanghai, China

Zhao Chen
Gao Xing
Chen Yunhuan

2009 Westminster College, Salt Lake City, UT

Sadie Turner
Elizabeth Anne White
Danyi Xia

Honorable Mention:

Emily Levin